Orthodox chapel in the name of St. Nicolaya Chudotvortsa is one of the symbols of Novosibirsk located in the central street on the city — Krasny Prospekt.
Chapel was built for the sake of donations during 6 months in 1914. Its construction is attributed to the twentieth anniversary of the laying of a railway bridge across the Ob river, which appeared as the beginning of the development of the city and also the 300th anniversary of the Romanov`s dynasty, which was an imperial dynasty. The chapel was illuminated on December 6, 1914.
A. Kryachkov designed the building. He was inspired by the Novgorod architectural motives of 11-14 centuries. Bishop of Tomsk and Altai Anatoly blessed the construction. He presented the icon of St. Nicolaya, which contains a particle of the relics of the Great Martyr Panteleimon.
Initially, the chapel was the intersection of the street Tobisenevskaya (today is Maxima Gorkogo) with the Nikolayevsky (Krasny) avenue and was the geographical center of the country within its territory of that time. Today the center is located in the Evenki district of the Krasnoyarsk Territory and it is marked by a memorable sign.
Patriarch of Moscow and All Russia Alexiy II presented the chapel with the icon of St. Nicolaya in 2002. A year later a particle of the relies of Nicolaya Chudotvortsa was placed at the chapel.
Источник фотографий: Russia.Travel