One of the first churches built according to St. Pitirim’s charter was the church of St. John the Forerunner in Pyashkilskaya Sloboda (the former name of Donskaye village in the 17th century). According to the chronicles, the first Tambov Saint, Pitirim, came to Pyashkelskaya Sloboda on his second year of archpastoral service. The population of the sloboda included mainly Mordovians, criminals and tramps, who fled from tsarist prosecution. A year later, in 1687, supported by the sloboda population St. Pitirim built a wooden church in the name of the Prophet and Baptist of the Lord John the Forerunner, the preacher of repentance. In the 80s of the 18th century the old dilapidated church was rebuilt and in 1870 the construction of the new wooden church was started. In 1871, it was consecrated in honor of the Beheading of St. John the Forerunner.
Before the revolution Donskoye village had two sacred objects associated with Pitirim of Tambov. Until 1917 the church kept the altar cross handmade and presented by the bishop himself (at present it is in possession of Tambov regional museum of local history). Another proof of his works was the holy well dug out by St. Pitirim himself. It was the last well out of three dug out by Tambov Wonderworker. For some unknown reason this well was buried by the villagers at the beginning of the 20th century (around 1912). The church in Donskoye village was closed in 1939. The building was demolished and a local school was built in its place. The school was dismantled because of its dilapidation in 1995.
In 2002-2007, a stone modern church was built in octagon placed on quadrangle style with refectory and low one-storey bell tower.
Источник фотографий: Russia.Travel