On April 13, 1837, at the 400x120-meter site in the Studenets River valley, which was running on the outskirts of Tambov, the construction of the racecourse was completed. The creation in Tambov of the hippodrome is connected with the establishment of a hunters» society of horse racing in 1837. Around the same time, stables were built for the maintenance, testing and training of horses.
The length of the racetracks varied. In 1854, it was a verst long (1,067 meters), and in 1869 it was a 1,5 versts long (1,600 meters). For the first time in the world practice, the Tambov Hippodrome introduced the automatic launch of horses from the start with the device made by the Tambov horse-breeder Lansky.
Tambov Hippodrome had its ups and downs. During the general horse-breeding crisis, the Tambov Hippodrome tries to overcome the emerging difficulties and organizes various equestrian events. Since 2006, it hosts annual Governor's Cup races; there's a riding school.
Information and Tourist Portal of Tambov region http://turtmb.ru
Источник фотографий: Russia.Travel