The first record of Turovka village is found in the papers of the enumeration list of 1719 where it is mentioned as “Turovka village, on the Blizhny Surena river”. At that time Turovka had only 5 houses of smallholders whose surnames were mostly Turovsky. In 1910, the population of the village grew up to 2 000 people. Originally, there was a small wooden church in the village. The church chronicles of Turovka tell about an interesting legend about the first Turovka church. A few years before the construction, a local peasant woman went out to the barnyard on a dedication day (most likely it was the day of St. Sergius of Radonezh). She saw a light coming from the place that would later become a church vestibule. At that time instead of the church there was a threshing barn. The woman approached the barn and saw the icon of the Mother of God «Unexpected Joy». She crossed herself and took this miracle-working icon home.
The stone church in honor of Kazan icon of the Mother of God was founded in 1876 in place of the old wooden church. The rapid construction was interrupted by the fire in 1878 that destroyed half of the village. But still the exterior construction of the five-dome church with steepled domes had been finished by 1888. In 1890, the church opened its doors. On the outside it looked similar to the Nativity of Christ cathedral in Tambov that hasn’t been preserved to this day (the Nativity of Christ cathedral itself was a copy of the Church of the Annunciation of the Horse Guards regiment in St. Petersburg (architect K. Thon). The planning structure of Kazan church imitated the shapes of the Nativity of Christ cathedral completely with an exception of the altar part. The church has three altars: the main altar — in honor of the Kazan Icon of the Mother of God, the side ones — in honor of St. Nicholas the Wonderworker and St. Sergius of Radonezh. The church was built by the local amateur builders — Efim and Alexander Turovsky.
In 1934, the church was closed. The grand building started being used for the storage of grain. In 1941, the building of Kazan church was sold to Sergiyevsky distillery for 30 000 rubles that continued utilizing the building as a barn. Besides, the factory workers dismounted all the steam equipment of the church. The iconostasis was also taken apart that year. In 1942, Turovka villagers wrote a letter to the “Izvestia” newspaper asking for an Orthodox church to be opened in their village. The letter was published in January, 1943. Meanwhile, the church started falling into a decay. In August, 1946, the long-awaited decision to hand the building of Kazan church over to the believers was finally approved. From then on, divine services are held at church on a regular basis.
Источник фотографий: Russia.Travel