The first church in Dubovoye village was built in 1811. In the middle of the 19th century the village was bought by Count Oblov who built a large and beautiful wooden house here on the hill near the river. Today this well-preserved building decorated with ornamental platbands and the Oblovs’ emblem carved in wood functions as a shop, library and museum of the village. After the abolition of serfdom Oblov engaged himself into horse breeding, gardening, greenhouses and growing of berries.
After the Count’s death in 1908, the estate was inherited by his niece — Countess Barteniyeva. Her first visit to Dubovoye took place in 1914. Unfortunately, this visit turned out to be tragic for her as both her sons fell ill with scarlet fever and passed away. The Countess left for Bulgaria, her husband’s motherland. She had been living there for many years until she got a permission to come back to her Motherland and live in Tambov. The Countess visited her uncle’s estate twice to offer her assistance in the restoration of the estate. In 1918-1924, the estate farm was used to establish a new stud farm for the breeding of trotter horses meant fro the Red Army. The fruit-growing farm started its work in Dubovoye in 1924 and is still one of the best farms of this kind in Tambov region.
Unfortunately, the old church in Dubovoye village was destroyed in the Soviet years. In 1992, the wooden St. Michael the Archangel church was built near Count Oblov‘s former house with the funds from “Dubovoye” collective farm. It was the first church in Tambov metropolitanate that was built anew during the post-perestroika time. Several regions of the former USSR took part in the construction of the church. The blockhouse was made by Dobrovsky forestry of Lipetsk region, the roof was fixed by the woodworkers from Sosnovka district of Tambov region, and the domes were assembled by the specialists from Dnepropetrovsk. The crosses and bells were produced at the repair factory of Novolipetsk integrated iron-and-steel works. The artists from west Ukraine painted the church. There is a church park, a clergyman’s house, holy-water and funeral chapels located near the church. Not far from it there is also a sculpture of a Guardian Angel on top of a high stela. The main holy object of St. Michael the Archangel church is the weeping icon of the Mother of God of Kazan.
Источник фотографий: Russia.Travel