Memorial Square to the Fallen during the Civil War is recognized as a monument of the regional importance. The central entrance is forward to Krasny Prospect, on the right side is Lenin's House, and there is also the second entrance to Maxim Gorky Street.
January 22, 1920 in Novonikolaevsk the funeral of fighters for the power of the Soviets was held. Two years later, the concrete monument in the form of a muscular arm was built here. The opening ceremony of the monument took place on November 7, 1922, on the fifth anniversary of the October Revolution.
The mass grave of the 104 victims of the Civil War — a symbol of the square — is a monument connected with the period of the liberation of Novonikolaevsk from the troops of Admiral Kolchak. On the night of December 13-14, 1919, the 27th division of the 5th Red Army, cooperating with the workers» troops of the city, entered into Novonikolaevsk. In the prison yard (Trudovaya str., 60) and in the Kamenka River, they found the mutilated bodies of 104 people. Later, only 37 of them could be identified. The grave is located at the western wall of the park, bordering the “Lenin’s House”. The monument is placed in the center of the square.
The mass grave of members of the Novonikolaevsk (Novosibirsk) Soviet of Workers», Peasants» and Soldiers» Deputies is a monument connected with the events of 1918, when on the night of May 25-26 a counter-revolutionary rebellion and the fall of the Soviet power took place in the city. The grave is located at the eastern wall of the Memorial Square. The remains of the fallen were transferred here from the city cemetery on the eve of the 40th anniversary of the October Revolution.
Источник фотографий: Russia.Travel