Church of the Transfiguration of Our Savior is situated 3 km to south of Novgorod near the Gorodische. It was built in 1198 by Novgorodian Prince Yaroslav Vladimirovich near Prince's residence and was dedicated to his sons» memory.
The year after the church had been built it was decorated with frescoes. According to Yanin's hypothesis, the author of the murals could be well-known in Novgorod Olisey Grechin. At the same the cloister was founded where Novgorodian Prince Afanasiy Danilovich, a grandson of Alexander Nevsky, took monastic vows in 1322, before his death, and was buried.
The church was rebuilt several times. In 1903 — 1904 the restoration work (the first truly scientific restoration in Russia) was held during which Church of the Transfiguration of Our Savior on Nereditsa Hill got its original appearance back. Temple's frescoes are one of the most famous monuments of mural not only of Russian but also European art. Nereditsa's murals maintained its perfect condition up to the 20th century and has been actively studied and described until 1930s. Just some parts had losses.
Church of the Transfiguration of Our Savior was ruined during World War II. About 50 percent of laying and 15 percent of painting (before the war about 90 percent was left) remained whole. Restoration works began in 1944. The Church has been restored in 1956 — 1958. Church of the Transfiguration of Our Savior on Nereditsa Hill is on World Heritage list since 1992 as the most valuable historical and cultural monument.
Before World War II it was a fully preserved ensemble of Russian mural painting of the late 12th century. Now the church is restored after being seriously damaged during World War II; the restoration of the frescoes is still being carried out. The expressive fragments of «The Day of Judgment», the images of the saints and martyrs in sacristy give the possibility to understand and feel its uniqueness.
Источник фотографий: Russia.Travel