The big stained-glass window above the main entrance, apses framed by the columns on each side of the entrance, dome-shaped ceiling in the central part of the building, attics, moulded decorations of the facade — all these create a harmonious effect from the perception of the building.
Before the revolution there used to be a Noble land bank and Peasant land bank. In Soviet times this mansion was front Tambov building — it housed the regional committee of CPSU. Nowadays, the building is the leading building of Tambov state university named after G. R. Derzhavin.
After the abolishon of serfdom and other great econimic reforms of the 60s-70s of the 19th century, there was a complicated situation. Russian government had to establish special credit structures. Noble and Peasant land banks bacame such structures in Russian Empire. The Peasant land bank was founded in 1883. Its goal was to provide mortgage lending for the peasant farms. Tambov branch was opened in 1884. In 1885, the Noble land bank was established targeting the noble landowners in order to help them with favourable lending when they had to mortgage their estates. In June, 1890, both banks united in management.
The joind funds of the banks allowed to construct a new spacious building to room these lending institutions. A talented architect, F.O. Livchak, who successfully cooperated with the State Land Bank, was invited to develop the project of the new building. His projects were also used for the construction of the land banks in other cities like Nizhny Novgorod, Ulyanovsk, Penza and Kursk. In 1911 the construction was over. The building ended up being made up of parts of different sizes. These parts formed a closed area in the centre leading into a conference hall in the form of a round additional building.
In the 50s of the 20th century the building of the former land bank was renovated. Initial two-storey side parts were joined by one more storey and united under one shared roof.
Источник фотографий: Russia.Travel